Food

Mushroom Spinach Cheddar Quiche

I don’t remember the first time I ate this quiche. My mother has made it for years, always to rave reviews. I’ve tweaked the recipe a tiny bit and made it bite-size. My kids love these! I usually make them with mushroom, spinach, and cheddar, but I’ve also made a tomato and mozzarella variation that was yummy. They freeze beautifully, making for the perfect make-ahead breakfast.

Mushroom Spinach Cheddar Quiche

Ingredients

1 tbsp of olive oil

3 tbsp chopped white onion

1/2 pint of white mushrooms

4 oz shredded cheddar cheese

1/2 box of frozen spinach, defrosted

4 eggs

1 tsp salt

1 tsp pepper

Pie Crust (store bought is fine, but I love this homemade one)

Directions

Step 1. Preheat oven to 350 F. Grease a muffin tin with non-stick spray.

Step 2. Heat oil in a frying pan over medium heat.Β Add onions and cook until golden brown (about 10 minutes).

Mushroom Cheddar Spinach Quiche

Step 3. Chop the mushrooms into bite size pieces, then add them to the pan. Cook until golden brown (about 5 minutes). Transfer everything to a large bowl to cool.

Step 4. Once the mushroom mixture has cooled, add the cheese, eggs, salt and pepper. Mix to combine. Set aside.

Mushroom Cheddar Spinach Quiche

Step 5. Roll out the pie crust on a flour dusted surface. The crust be approximately 1/4 in thick. Cut out circles 3 inches in diameter. (I used the lid of my sugar bowl).

Step 6. Carefully transfer the circles to the muffin tin. Press the crusts down into the indentations.

Mushroom Cheddar Spinach Quiche

Step 7. Fill the crusts 3/4 with the egg mixture. Bake at 350 F for 20-30 minutes. A toothpick inserted into the center should come out clean.

Yield 16-18 bite sized quiches

Variations: Tomato and Mozzarella, 3 cheese, spinach and cheddar

Recipe source: my mother (love you mom!)

These are yummy warm or at room temperature. I hope you enjoy them! What’s your favorite breakfast food?

One thought on “Mushroom Spinach Cheddar Quiche

  1. Pingback: An Annoucement | Eat. Play. Craft.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment!

